The Winsor School
A leading school for academically promising girls in grades 5-12
Students Win 2nd Prize in C-SPAN StudentCam Competition
Students Win 2nd Prize in C-SPAN StudentCam Competition

Congratulations to Anne Joseph '21 and Ashley Browne '21! The Class VI students were named second prize winners of the thirteenth annual C-SPAN StudentCam Documentary Competition for their film, America: A Marketplace of Ideas.

The contest, which began in 2006, invites high school and middle school students to produce a short documentary about a subject of national importance. This year, a record 6,318 students from 48 states and Washington, D.C. entered 2,923 submissions addressing the theme, "What does it mean to be American? Choose a constitutional right, national characteristic, or historic event and explain how it defines the American experience."

Anne and Ashley first heard about the documentary competition while onboard the C-SPAN Bus when it made Winsor a stop on its 50 States Tour this fall. A discourse in their U.S. History class inspired them to approach their teacher about the project.  "It was early in the year and we had been discussing the 1798 Sedition Act which outlawed any and all 'false, scandalous and malicious writing' about the president or Congress," notes history faculty Kate Grant. "Anne and Ashley made some insightful connections between this 18th-century law and the recent 21st-century discourse about the role of the press, sometimes called the 'fourth branch' of government, in a democracy. We met after school a few times about the project, and they just took it from there!"

High school students competed on a regional level, with the United States divided into three regions: West, Central and East. Middle school students were judged on a national basis. In addition to the grand prize and first prize winners, C-SPAN awarded 16 second prize winners, 32 third prize winners and 97 honorable mention prizes.

Click here to view Anne and Ashley's film, courtesy of C-SPAN.

Click here to learn more about the annual competition sponsored by the C-SPAN Education Foundation, and to view all the winning entries, courtesy of C-SPAN.