This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Winsor Races in 57th Head of the Charles Regatta

October 23, 2022—Winsor had two boats racing in the finals at the 57th Head of the Charles Regatta—a Women’s Youth 4+ and a Women’s Youth 8+. To close out Spirit Week, 100 spectators made up of Winsor alumnae and current families cheered on the athletes from the Belmont Hill Winsor Boat House.

“The 4+ went out hard and raced a strong race, executing their race plan to a T,” shared Director of Rowing Maura Flanagan. Lauren Hogan ’23 deftly navigated the course as coxswain while Emeline Daley ’24 set a fantastic pace at 32 strokes per minute (spm). Oli Hochberg '23 and Austin Forrester ’23 powered the boat with strength and strong finishes while Amory Gordon ’23 held the set in the bow seat. The Winsor 4+ had a controlled, powerful pace until they crossed in front of the Winsor dock. Perhaps it was the assembled cheering spectators who inspired them to kick it up a notch because the crew sprinted through the finish line. Based on course checkpoints, the boat had the second fastest sprint of the 90-boat field. In other words, “They really left everything they had on the course,” said Coach Flanagan.

The 8+ started the race from the back with the toughest bow marker of the event—Bow #89. They overcame this by hitting a 35 spm on their start before settling into a 32 spm for the entirety of the race. Audrey Copeman ’24 executed a flawless John W. Weeks Bridge turn, and the crew consistently passed a few boats at a time as they rowed through each bridge. “As they came under Eliot Bridge, the whole boat sat up and synced up together to finish strong at #49 with a time of 18:16.31—a solid 40 bow marker jump,” shared Coach Flanagan. Congratulations to the whole boat: Gabby Kaluski ’25, Anne Moghtader ’25, Sylvia Jenkins ’24, Sophia Gerogiannis ’23, Stella MacLean ’24, Coco FitzMaurice ’23, Abigail Stephenson ’24, Izzy Fan ’23, and Audrey Copeman ’24. 

Thank you to all the spectators who made the day so special for these Wildcats!