This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Fall In Love with Class IV Rock On

January 18, 2024—While the Winsor Performing Arts Department has a robust catalog of offerings, a fan-favorite is the Class IV Rock On elective. Lower School students study the history of pop music and then select songs to learn and perform in an annual student performance at an all-school assembly. 

Playing electric bass, bells, congas, drums and drum machine, electric guitar, piano, saxophone, synth, and violin, the Class IV student band rocked the David E. and Stacey L. Goel auditorium.

During the band’s rendition of “Can’t Help Falling in Love“ by Elvis Presley, the audience of students turned on their cell phone flashlights and swayed along. 

Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survive” inspired enthusiastic clapping and brought people to their feet.

Dressed in sunglasses and hats, four band members ran out on stage to rap during “Empire State of Mind” by Alicia Keys featuring Jay Z—and one student even did the worm!

Thank you to Head of Performing Arts Felicia Brady Lopez, Performing Arts Faculty Andres Puigbo and the students in his Stagecraft and Theater Tech courses for running the show, Theater Tech Assistant Brianna Feliciano '20, Vocal Coach Shantel Teixiera '20, Sound Engineer Zion Rodman, and the Class IV Rock on parents and guardians who helped make this show come to life. 

Full set list: 
“Your Love” by The Outfield
“Take On Me” by a-ha
“Working 9 to 5” by Dolly Parton
“Can’t Help Falling in Love“ by Elvis Presley 
“I Will Survive” by Gloria Gaynor
“Rolling in the Deep” by Adele
“Empire State of Mind” by Alicia Keys featuring Jay Z

Class IV Rock On musicians and vocalists:
Logan Charner-Laird - guitar, bass, drums, voice, violin
Margot Curry - synth, drums, drum machine, voice 
Madeline Forry - voice, synth, guitar
Eileen Lee - guitar, piano, voice, violin
Louisa Lipson - guitar, bass, synth, voice
Eliot McCarthy - synth, voice, piano, perc, drum machine
Lilac Nguyen - voice, drums, drum machine
Claire Park - voice, bells
Sophia Selassie - voice, guitar, drums, percussion
Irene Tian - percussion, alto sax, guitar, voice
Liv Todd - voice, piano, guitar, synth, bass
Aniyah Winston-Johnson - drums, guitar, bells, bass, congas, voice
Emily Yakoobian - guitar, bass, drums, voice